Michigan NCAA Wolverines

About Our Michigan NCAA Wolverines

We get that your pet is as serious about the game as you are. The officially licensed Michigan NCAA Wolverines Pet Premium Products feature authentic team uniform graphics, so you both can head to the tailgate in style!

Who Are The Michigan Wolverines?

The Michigan Wolverines comprise 27 varsity sports teams at the University of Michigan. These teams compete in the NCAA's Division I and in the Big Ten Conference in all sports except women's water polo, which competes in the NCAA inter-divisional Collegiate Water Polo Association.

How Can You Recognize Michigan NCAA Wolverines Teams?

Team colors are maize and blue, though these are different shades of "maize" and "blue" than those used by the university at large. The winged helmet is a recognized icon of Michigan Athletics.

What Is The History Behind The Michigan NCAA Wolverines?

The Wolverines are an athletic powerhouse nationally. In the past 13 of 20 years (through 2016–17), Michigan has finished in the top five of the NACDA Directors' Cup, a list compiled by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics that charts institutions' overall success in college sports. Just as impressive, UM has finished in the top ten of the Directors' Cup standings in twenty of the award's twenty-six seasons (through 2019) suitable for 5th best nationally.
The NCAA is a non-profit organization that regulates athletes of 1,281 institutions and conferences.

We are supporting student-athlete success on the field, in the classroom, and life by integrating athletics into higher education. Support high school with athletic scholarships from a University President, if good enough a Division III team.

Intercollegiate sports began in the US in 1852 when crews from Harvard and Yale universities met in a challenging race in the competition of Crew. As rowing remained the preeminent sport in the country into the late-1800s, many of the initial debates about collegiate athletic eligibility and purpose settled through organizations like the Rowing Association of American Colleges and the Intercollegiate Rowing Association.

As other sports emerged, notably football and basketball, many of these same concepts and standards were adopted. Football, in particular, began to appear as a marquee sport, but the rules of the game itself were in constant flux and often had to adapt for each contest.

The NCAA dates its formation to two White House conferences convened by President Theodore Roosevelt in the early 20th century in response to repeated injuries and deaths in college football, which had "prompted many college and universities to discontinue the sport."

Following those White House meetings and the reforms which had resulted, Chancellor Henry MacCracken of New York University organized a conference of 13 colleges and universities to initiate changes in football playing rules; at a follow-on meeting on December 28, 1905, in New York, 62 higher-education institutions became charter members of the Intercollegiate Athletic Association of the United States (IAAUS). The IAAUS was officially established on March 31, 1906, and took its present name, the NCAA, in 1910.

For several years, the NCAA was a discussion group and rules-making body for college sports. Still, in 1921, the first NCAA national championship conducted: the National Collegiate Track and Field Championships. Gradually, more rules committees formed, and more tournaments were created, including a basketball championship in 1939.

In the late 1940s, there were only two colleges in the country, Notre Dame and Pennsylvania, with a national TV contract, a significant source of revenue. In 1951, the NCAA voted to prohibit any live TV broadcast of college football games during the season.

No sooner had the NCAA voted to ban television than public outcry forced it to retreat. Instead, the NCAA voted to restrict the number of televised games for each team to stop the slide in gate attendance. University of Pennsylvania president Harold Stassen defied the monopoly and renewed its contract with ABC. November 17, football teams are usually getting ready for Bowl Games.